Recent Achievements | RTVF alum works on Ph.D. dissertation

29 09 2011

Congratulations to former RTVF major Nicholas Park, who is now working on his Ph.D. dissertation.  He checks in with the following update:

After graduating with a double major in RTVF and sociology in 2007, I briefly worked as a board-op for KFOX before leaving to pursue a graduate degee in sociology at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  I received an MA degree in 2009 and then continued on for the Ph.D.  I am now officially ABD and plan to defend my dissertation this coming May. My research focuses on gay and lesbian families, infertility, and adoption, but I have also been dabbling in criminology and media studies–the media part being my attempt to stay connected to my RTVF background.  To earn my keep, I teach Introduction to Sociology, Social Problems, and Marriage & Family courses at the university.  I escape the corn and get back to the Bay Area whenever I can, but, in the meantime, I am living it up in the Midwest with my partner of 6 years, David, and our numerous fury friends.  It’s been fun.

Great work!

Actions

Information




